Dec 4

December 5, 2008

s50019362

This very appropriate banner was hanging in the room I used for blogging last night at Sisters Church of the Nazarene. Remember that spreading the HOPE in Jesus is why we are out here.  Jesus is our hope and the hope of the world.  I spent a good deal of time over the past few months considering why anyone would want to live without him.  I believe its because we, the Body of Christ, have failed to show his truth to the world around us.  We have not not been the City on a Hill that we are called to be.  There is a poem that speaks loudly to us all.

My Friend by D.J. Higgins                                                            

 

My friend, I stand in judgment now

And feel that you’re to blame somehow

While on this earth I walked with you day by day

And never did you point the way

You knew the Lord in truth and glory

But never did you tell the story

My knowledge then was very dim

You could have led me safe to him

Though we lived together here on earth

You never told me of your second birth

And now I stand this day condemned

Because you failed to mention him

You taught me many things, that’s true

I called you friend and trusted you

But now I learned, now it’s too late

You could have kept me from this fate

We walked by day and talked by night

And yet you showed me not the light

You let me live, love and die

And all the while you knew I’d never live on high

Yes, I called you friend in life

And trusted you in joy and strife

Yet in coming to this end

I see you really weren’t my friend

 

Oh, God, don’t let me fail to tell all I meet the Good News of Jesus.  Help me, Father to be a true friend.

 

Sorry, that has been weighing heavily on my spirit for a few days.  Please, family, share your testimony with others, tell them about the hope in Jesus before its too late.

 

We were blessed tonight by the Valley UMC in Veneta.  Brother Doug Esselstyn and Rod Burch welcomed us to stay in their fellowship hall with the blessing of Pastor Eilidh Lowery.  They also invited us to join them for the Parade of Lights, local Christmas parade.  It was a very pretty event though I could take no pictures to show you guys. 

 

s5001945We did find out today why the University of Oregon mascot is the Ducks.  These  pictures were taken not far from the U of Oregon campus.

 

 

 

s5001947

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We have only two more days of walking before we reach the Pacific. We are excited to be finished with this part and be able to come home before Christmas, but we are saddened that the journey ends for now.  I will try in the next few days to put into writing some of the stuff we have learned on this missionary journey to the American people and church.

Leave a Reply

